He’s tired????

I received a forwarded email from a Mr. Robert Hall that I could not just read, so here goes…..

(Sent as reply to his email also)

Robert A. Hall is an actor. He plays the coroner on CSI if you watch that show. He also is a Marine Vietnam War veteran, but does not mention that he had his legs blown off in that war.
This should be required reading for every man, woman and child in the United States of America .

“I’m 63 and I’m Tired”
 by Robert A. Hall

First of all, Robert, I want to commend you for your service to our nation; your self-sacrifice is beyond heroic and we owe you a profound debt of gratitude each and every day. We are unendingly grateful for your courage and bravery. As President Obama always says, “We have the greatest fighting force on earth.” And you prove that once again.

 I’m 63 . Except for one semester in college when jobs were scarce and a six-month period when I was between jobs, but job-hunting every day, I’ve worked hard since I was 18. Despite some health challenges, I still put in 50-hour weeks, and haven’t called in sick in seven or eight years. I make a good salary, but I didn’t inherit my job or my income, and I worked to get where I am. Given the economy, there’s no retirement in sight, and I’m tired. Very tired.

But, Robert, you are not alone when you state you have worked hard. So many of us have too, when jobs were scare and there was no money for college because we did not serve in the armed forces for whatever reason. When you are a young minority and grow up poor, there is no vision of “college”, just the hope that the next day would be a better one and there will be food on the table. I am a little older than you, but I know what you are referring to….. I feel your pain. I was one of the lucky ones that graduated high school in the fifties and was given a chance at  what was then a decent job and the opportunity go to college at night and on weekends…. And like you, I did not inherit my job, I earned it the hard way but my increases/ promotions came after the other guys got theirs. But I did not get tired….   

I’m tired of being told that I have to “spread the wealth” to people who don’t have my work ethic. I’m tired of being told the government will take the money I earned, by force if necessary, and give it to people too lazy to earn it. 


But, Robert, you are not alone when you state you have worked hard. So many of us have too, when jobs were scare and there was no money for college because we did not serve in the armed forces for whatever reason. When you are a young minority and grow up poor, there is no vision of “college”, just the hope that the next day would be a better one and there will be food on the table. I am a little older than you, but I know what you are referring to….. I feel your pain. I was one of the lucky ones that graduated high school in the fifties and was given a chance at  what was then a decent job and the opportunity of go to college at night and on weekends…. And like you, I did not inherit my job, I earned it the hard way but my increases/ promotions came after the other guys got theirs. We are all Americans, in different places in society, poor, lower middle class, middle class; without a job, or with part time work or sick, or unable to work. We have a responsibility as Americans to give our fellow neighbors a helping hand and a livable wage, whether through our government, a decent job or charitable agencies. Few of us do not want to work so.., so some of  your money goes to those who for the most part work….rent subsidies, food stamps, job searches, mostly white folks. So if you can get your republican representatives to stop stealing your money as a salary and create a FAIR tax system, and FAIR access to education, or a FAIR chance to improve our infrastructure, perhaps those who you do not want to help, wouldn’t need your money. 
Robert, I’m tired too, of people assuming that it’s your money only going to help people Maybe your money bought a tank… maybe…

 I’m tired of being told that I have to pay more taxes to “keep people in their homes.” Sure, if they lost their jobs or got sick, I’m willing to help. But if they bought Mc Mansions at three times the price of our paid-off, $250,000 condo, on one-third of my salary, then let the left-wing Congress-critters who passed Fannie and Freddie and the Community Reinvestment Act that created the bubble use their own money to help them.

Maybe you didn’t lose your home or you were not unemployed, you were serving your country… (Marine Corps housing) you did not have to go through that heartache. Poor people do not qualify for “McMansions”, your republican Congress made certain of that by cutting programs and raising interest rates on student loans.. I’m tired of that…as a veteran, you got your house through the VA loan program probably or it as given to you outright for your service… I’m glad for that; by the way whose money paid for that?

I’m tired of you thinking so narrowly, as if everybody else, thinks like you, well, they don’t…. I’m glad of that!

 I’m tired of being told how bad America is by left-wing millionaires like Michael Moore, George Soros and Hollywood Entertainers who live in luxury because of the opportunities America provided to them. In thirty years, if they get their way, the United States will have:

  1. the economy of Zimbabwe ,
  2. the freedom of the press of China
  3. the crime and violence of Mexico ,
  4. the tolerance for Christian people of Iran
  5. the freedom of speech of Venezuela ..

I’m tired of you thinking only liberal people make money in Hollywood. Right wing folks like romney, the koch brothers, the Walmart gang, Clint Eastwood and so on, or Citibank,   B of A, Wells Fargo, or Chase ripping folks off.. How about those guys playing golf, buying yachts, jet planes or Lamborghinis or picnicking in Bali on your dime…???

I’m tired of you thinking the only language is “American” English….China, Japan, Saudi Arabia, India and Russia are now players in the world economy yet you want to put your head in the sand and not understand that communication and knowledge are to key to survival in the 21st century. If we have, as you surmised, “the economy of Zimbabwe” it is because your do-nothing Congress, is too busy kissing asses of the rich to put all of us to work and make the “riche” pay a livable wage!

Do some research on who funds the transfer of drugs into America…it’s not poor folks that’s for sure! Freedom of the press, how about the freedom to VOTE, your cabal is the one that is blocking a fundamental right…. I’m tired of that…

 

I’m tired of being told that Islam is a “Religion of Peace,” when every day I can read stories of Muslim men killing their sisters, wives and daughters for their family “honor”; of Muslims rioting over some slight offense; of Muslims murdering Christian and Jews because they aren’t “believers”; of Muslims burning schools for girls; of Muslims stoning teenage rape victims to death for “adultery”; of Muslims mutilating the genitals of little girls; all in the name of Allah, because the Qur’an and Sharia’s law tells them to.

Do some research on how many Muslims there are in the world and compare that number to the number of wayward and lost terrorists who were spawned by your republican war hawks with no idea of  the consequences.. I’m tired of you believing it was okay to lie and put us into war in the Middle East. I’m tired of you not acknowledging who brought you and your comrades home. Stop reading the same story over and over so that it’s implanted in your brain… yes, it happens but we do not condone it; we can only hope their leaders understand charity.

 

I’m tired of being told that “race doesn’t matter” in the post-racial world of Obama, when it’s all that matters in affirmative action jobs, lower college admission and graduation standards for minorities (harming them the most), government contract set-asides, tolerance for the ghetto culture of violence and fatherless children that hurts minorities more than anyone, and in the appointment of U.S. Senators from Illinois.

I’m tired of you thinking the minorities are getting a break…if they got one, they would not still be poor! We are not in a “post-racial” world, you won’t let it be….you didn’t complain when the rockefellers, the duponts, bushs, the hunts, the waltons, used the “have-nots” to make money, without paying a fair share of taxes. You need to come into the reality of 2015; you and your republicans will not do their jobs and provide opportunities and education for the less fortunate. Oh, by the way, look up how manty minority folks have Masters, PHDs and work for NASA, build rockets, the Planetarium, in astrophysics, medicine, are lawyers, and are on the cutting edge in advancement of finding alternative sources of energy! I’m tired of you thinking white people only contributed to the growth of this country; we all did….only we didn’t kill the natives and slaves to do it!!

I think
 it’s very cool that we have a black president and that a black child is doing her homework at the desk where Lincoln wrote the Emancipation Proclamation. I just wish the black president was Condi Rice, or someone who believes more in freedom and the individual and less arrogantly in an all-knowing government.

I’m proud that, as a nation, we could come to the point that there less folks like you, bitter, that a Black man could repeat as President of this great country; who could get us out of a depression, save the auto industry, spur job growth, save our economy and Wall Street, and again, bring you home, avoid a confrontation with Russia, and work with world leaders to keep the peace. I’m tired of you thinking that the liars, including condi rice, rumsfeld, cheeeney and alan west, boehner and mcconnell should be in charge.

I’m tired
 of being told that out of “tolerance for other cultures” we must not complain when Saudi Arabia uses the money we pay for their oil to fund mosques and madras Islamic schools to preach hate in America, while no American group is allowed to fund a church, synagogue or religious school in Saudi Arabia to teach love and tolerance

.

I’m tired of people like you, wanting to dictate to other countries. First of all, we don’t pay the Saudis for oil; we produce enough for America on our own, but your Congress  allows the big oil companies to gouge you with high prices. I’m tired of that!

I’m tired of being told I must lower my living standard to fight global warming, which no one is allowed to debate. My wife and I live in a two-bedroom apartment and carpool together five miles to our jobs. We also own a three-bedroom condo where our daughter and granddaughter live. Our carbon footprint is about 5% of Al Gore’s, and if you’re greener than Gore, you’re green enough.
I’m tired of you not understanding that global warming is causing the world to lose to its ozone layer. I’m tired of you complaining that your two bedroom and three bedroom is not enough; that you love fracking, polluted water, barren deserts,  loss of trees (that produce OXYGEN) floods, hurricanes, and rising sea levels. I’m tired of your brain being on ‘idle’ about such quality of life,  important issues…..I am tired of it!!!

 I’m tired of being told that drug addicts have a disease, and I must help support and treat them, and pay for the damage they do. Did a giant germ rush out of a dark alley, grab them, and stuff white powder up their noses while they tried to fight it off? I don’t think gay people choose to be gay, but I #@*# sure think druggies chose to take drugs. And I’m tired of harassment from “cool” people treating me like a freak when I tell them I never tried marijuana.

I’m tired of your folks funding the importation of illegal drugs and selling it to people too dumb to understand the horror it will bring. I’m tired of you trying to take away peoples civil rights, union rights, voting rights, cheating in elections, gun lobbyists (some are gay, you know); you think you are not alone when you say you never smoked a joint…I haven’t  either…. I’m tired of you think you are the only one.

 I’m tired of illegal aliens being called “undocumented workers,” especially those who aren’t working, but living on welfare or crime. What’s next? Calling drug dealers, “Undocumented Pharmacists”? And, no, I’m not against Hispanics. Most of them are Catholic, and it’s been a few hundred years since Catholics wanted to kill me for my religion. I’m willing to fast track citizenship for any Hispanic who can speak English, doesn’t have a criminal record and who is self-supporting without family on welfare, or who serves honorably for three years in our military. Those are the kind of citizens we need

I’m tired of you being confused about immigrants when your forefathers probably came here looking for freedom from horrors from someplace else. Most people came here looking for a better life, will learn to speak ‘English” and will work three times harder than your buddies ever will. Most folks on “welfare“ are white, by the away. Who do you think picks your lettuce, strawberries, lemons, spinach, carrots, oranges?  You should try it for a day…..I’m tired of you thinking most immigrants are crooks; they aren’t

I’m tired of the trashing of our military by latte liberals and journalists, who would never wear the uniform of the Republic themselves, or let their entitlement-handicapped kids near a recruiting station. They and their kids can sit at home, never having to make split-second decisions under life and death circumstances, and bad mouth better people than themselves. Do bad things happen in war? You bet. Do our troops sometimes misbehave? Sure. Does this compare with the atrocities that were the policy of our enemies for the last fifty years and still are? Not even close. So here’s a deal for those folks. I’ll let myself be subjected to all the humiliation and abuse that was heaped on terrorists at Abu Ghraib or Gitmo, while the critics of our military can be subject to captivity by the Muslims, who tortured and beheaded Daniel Pearl in Pakistan, or the Muslims who tortured and murdered Marine Lt. Col. William Higgins in Lebanon, or the Muslims who ran the blood-spattered Al Qaeda torture rooms our troops found in Iraq, or the Muslims who cut off the heads of schoolgirls in Indonesia because the girls were Christian — then we’ll compare notes. British and American soldiers are the only troops in history that civilians came to for help and handouts, instead of hiding from in fear.

I’m tired of you thinking America does not appreciate you. We do. We understand your sacrifice, as we fight terrorism all over the world. Our President is willing to seek retribution for these terrible acts as he did with bin laden….

 I’m tired of people telling me that their party has a corner on virtue and the other party has a corner on corruption. Read the papers; bums are bipartisan. And I’m tired of people telling me we need bipartisanship. I live in Illinois , where the “Illinois Combine” of Democrats has looted the public treasury for years. Not to mention the tax cheats in Obama’s cabinet.

I have to agree with this; but you do live in Illinois. There are no winners on this subject…..I’m tired of you being misguided on this.. we do need bipartisanship…. Step up, do not sit and complain; join a progressive coalition.. Recognize who is looking out for you, it certainly is NOT your beloved republicans

I’m tired
 of hearing wealthy athletes, entertainers and politicians of both parties talking about “innocent” mistakes, “stupid” mistakes or “youthful” mistakes, when all of us know they think their only mistake was getting caught.

You are getting a little more sensible; right is right

Speaking of poor, I’m tired 
of people with a sense of entitlement who have air-conditioned homes, color TVs and two cars called poor. The majority of Americans didn’t have that in 1970, but we didn’t know we were “poor.” The poverty pimps have to keep changing the definition of poor to keep the dollars flowing.

I’m tired of you thinking folks think they are “entitled” They just want a fair shot to pursue happiness. Get real… there are minorities without air conditioning, without a car, without a way to get to work, except walk, without a roof over their heads, with inadequate wages, poor access to health care, exorbitant carfare costs, high proportionate taxes, and so on. I’m tired of you ignorantly  thinking that way.

I’m real tired
 of people, rich or poor, who don’t take responsibility for their lives and actions. I’m tired of hearing them blame the government, or discrimination or big-whatever for their problems.

I’m tired of you blaming “the government” after   all, you sent  the repubicans  to Washington to delay the budget, to try to get rid of the ACA, and take health care from 11 million people or to make sure you don’t get the care you need as a veteran.

 

Yes, I’m tired, but I’m also glad to be 63, mostly because I’m not going to have to see the world these people are making. I’m just sorry for my grandchildren.

But unlike you, I am not tired and I am older than you, I’ve seen more years than you have, and guess what, I can’t  wait for progress and the chance to do better, to get it right,  to leave a legacy for my grands to appreciate. There are a lot of good folks here in America. We just have to let them do their thing for the future…give your grands the love and support, guide them to a field they enjoy, encourage them to participate in the growth of America.

I’m tired of you thinking about what you are tired of. Get off your ass and be part of the solution because if you just complain, you are going to be tired, and I’m tired of that!!

Robert A. Hall is a Marine Vietnam veteran who served five terms in the Massachusetts State Senate.

There is no way this will be widely publicized, unless each of us sends it on!

 

Bill Tallchief, writer, blogger, activist, Not tired !!  Proud to be an Black and Indian American!!!

About EaglechiefSpeaks

Politics determine your future, take the time to have a say in it. For me, politics is seriously personal Sleep on it and you may get representation you may not want! Pay attention and follow my blog, be enlightened...
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

